Parachutes Domestic sale lowest Only online sale

Parachutes Domestic sale lowest Only online sale

Parachutes Domestic sale lowest Only online sale


Product Description

debut album for UK indie act compared to Radiohead and Jeff Buckley.

Music doesn''t come more touching than this. With their debut single alone, the emotion-fortified "Shiver," Coldplay prove they can shift between elated and crushed in a breath, as singer Chris Martin pours out music''s oldest chestnut (unconditional yet unrequited love) with the shakiest of voices and a backdrop of epic guitars. For 10 tracks on Parachutes, he adds newfound meaning to the most tired and overused rock sentiments--love found, love lost, love unrequited--over acoustic guitars and emotionally fraught rock. And for once, all the clichés ring true because Chris Martin genuinely sounds like a man picking over the bones of his life, coming up with just as many reasons to be cheerful as seriously depressed. Not that Parachutes is a depressing album--there''s too much conviction to the guitars and hope in Martin''s words for that. Instead it''s a beautifully tender balance that comes as close to perfection as anything that''s come before it. --Dan Gennoe


Coldplay make straight-ahead, melodic Brit pop that strives for significance with a capital s, even as it has a hard time shaking its influences -- you can also hear the ethereal guitar chime of U2, a bit of Dave Matthews'' breathy folk implosion, even a misting of Roger Waters-era Pink Floyd. -- Rolling Stone<br \><br \>Shimmering guitars haunt tormented tunes, dark gravel growls vie with Thom Yorke-y high notes. Unquestionably, Coldplay could not have existed without an awe-stricken respect for Radiohead''s The Bends, but they are also capable of escaping its shadow... [12/2000, p.94] -- Alternative Press<br \><br \>Showcasing the group''s boundless warmth and flair for moodily dramatic pop craftsmanship--and, after no fewer than five EPs, proving its ability to sustain a mood over the course of a full-length album--the disc is likable from wire to wire, deviating from that consistency only to hit transcendent peaks with "Spies" and the perfect single "Yellow." -- The Onion (A.V. Club)

Their debut album''s secret arsenal comprises frontman Chris Martin''s voice - prematurely aged for someone in their early twenties - and some supple, persuasive melodies. That and a great big side order of melancholy. -- Q Magazine

There''s a magical sound potion that can cure lovesickness, and it''s called Parachutes, the first full-length CD by Coldplay.... Every song sounds like a hit. -- LA Weekly

Track Listings

1 Don''t Panic
2 Shiver
3 Spies
4 Sparks
5 Yellow
6 Trouble
7 Parachutes
8 High Speed
9 We Never Change
10 Everything''s Not Lost

Product information